I feel like these things should have an actual entrance or beginning but I cant really think of one and for some reason I’m not sure if I like that idea… so for now it’ll just keep starting randomly! Hopefully it’ll become endearing.

Today has pretty much been a normal day for me, work was really long and annoying and during my spare time I searched for a job in a non profit field. I came across something during my search that made me pause. There was a job that frankly sounded perfect for me and I was actually qualified for! The only problem is that they asked for a writing sample and I have no clue what that could entail. So I did what any millennial would do and googled it. Turns out I don’t have one!

The thing is when your degree is in art you don’t really do much writing and what little I did do I ended up deleting after college. Not to mention that anything from that time would be 5+ years old now and probably not an accurate depiction of my writing style. I talked to my sister about it and she asked if I had ever written for a blog because a lot of jobs will take those entries… frankly I don’t want to turn anything on here in for a writing sample for a job. I don’t really want a perspective job to know how much I struggle with who I am and what I want out of life. Probably doesn’t give a good first impression. Not to mention all of the errors that I’m sure are all over the place.

I’m really toying with the idea of just writing something about why I want the job or why I want to work in the non profit field. I know its not really the standard for these types of things but surely they get bored reading the same thing over and over. I feel like this could either be something very good or something very bad. But then again life is about risks and if reading about how I want to dedicate my life to non profit work makes them not want to hire me then I’m not really sure that we’d be the best fit.

I had a teacher once tell me that they only thing in life to regret is regret itself. That has always stuck with me and frankly I think that I’d regret not applying more than I would writing a random sample that isn’t the norm.

-M

Leave a Reply

